In association with

Back for a second year, we are delighted to open applications for our prestigious Cold Chain Sustainability Awards 2024.

Businesses in the cold chain are making great strides towards a sustainable future through innovation, collaboration and serious investment into improving energy efficiency and reducing carbon emissions, plastic and other forms of waste. The Cold Chain Sustainability Awards recognise and celebrate the businesses, facilities and individuals who are leading the way to a sustainable future.

Entries are now open for all award categories and will close on the 31st of January 2024, with the winners announced at the Cold Chain Climate Summit on the 13th of March.

The application pack for each award provides the full details on what you need to do to apply, how entries will be assessed and top tips for your application.

If you have any questions about submitting your application, please get in touch with Executive Director Tom Southall.

There are each eight awards available this year, across three categories.

If you want more information about the awards and how to apply, you can watch our launch webinar below.

Energy Efficiency Leaders – BY INVITATION ONLY

This category is for individual cold stores that have excelled in energy efficiency, as determined by energy data collected through the climate change for cold storage scheme.

Those businesses that operate sites which have met the pre-qualifying criteria of improving their energy efficiency in the last year will be contacted by the Federation with application packs.

There are three awards in this category:

• Small Cold Store of the Year (<25,000m3)
• Medium Cold Store of the Year (25,000m3 – 100,000m3)
• Large Cold Store of the Year (>100,000m3)

Technological Breakthrough – OPEN TO ALL

The Technological Breakthrough category recognises a game-changing innovation, such as a new product or service, which has made strides in 2023 and will lead to a widespread reduction in climate impact across the cold chain.

• Innovation of the Year – Transport
• Innovation of the Year – Cold Storage

Sustainability Champions – OPEN TO ALL

The Sustainability Champions category recognises businesses and individuals who have led the way with demonstratable progress in improving their climate impact in 2023.

• Sustainable Cold Storage Operator of the Year 2024
• Sustainable Cold Chain Transport Operator 2024
• Cold Chain Champion 2024


Don’t forget to book your ticket to the summit! Complete the booking form below to reserve your place.